Every Scouting activity moves youth toward three basic aims: character development, citizenship training, and mental and physical fitness. Advancement is one of the eight methods used by Scout leaders to help Scouts fulfill the aims of the BSA.
In Cub Scouts (grades K-5), youth advance in rank each year and earn achievements. They may also earn special recognitions, such as the Religious Emblem. In Boy Scouts, the Scouts must earn each rank advancement, and to earn the Eagle Scout rank, they must have completed 21 Merit Badges. The Venturing program has four awards: Venturing, Discovery, Pathfinder, and Summit.
Each program in Scouting has a handbook that outlines the requirements for advancement. In addition, the Boy Scouts of America regularly updates a Guide to Advancement that helps adult leaders understand the process. Leaders must report their youth advancement online using the Internet Advancement link. Service hours are reported through the Service Hours Reporting site  using the same log-in information and password as Internet Advancement.
The Council Advancement Committee publishes newsletters alerting volunteers to updates and changes in advancement processes.
Soaring News October 2018
Soaring News September 2018
Soaring News August 2018
Soaring News June 2018
Soaring News May 2018

Boy Scouts

Boy Scout Program Planning

Merit Badge Counselor Application (To Be Submitted with an Adult Application, PA Clearances, FBI Clearance (or BSA Waiver), & Youth Protection Training)

Reporting Merit Badge Counselor Concerns

Uniform and Insignia Guide

Troop Resource Survey

Venturing Resources

Council Advancement Committee Chairman – Steve Guthrie

Bald Eagle District Advancement Chairman – Don Cohick
Seven Bridges District Advancement Chairman – Dennis Slaybaugh
Staff Advisor – Rick Morse, District Executive