Cub Scouts

When you’re a kid, fun comes first.  Cub Scouts lets kids have fun while teaching them skills that will help them later on.  From the thrill of shooting an arrow to learning how to transform a block of wood into a race car, Cub Scouts is one thrill after another.  With a program expertly tailored to match each age in a young child’s life, Cub Scouts learn that even when fun isn’t easy, it’s always an adventure.  In Scouting, everything has a purpose.  And it shows kids that doing their best is the most fun of all.


The Cub Scout program is centered primarily in the den, the home, and the neighborhood, but often takes place in the outdoors.  It leads to advancement through six ranks, which – except for the Bobcat rank – are grade- or age-based.


Bobcat.  Earned first by all Cub Scouts, no matter what age they join.


Tiger.  For youth who have completed kindergarten or are 7 years old.


Wolf.  For youth who have completed first grade or are 8 years old.


Bear.  For youth who have completed second grade or are 9 years old.


Webelos.  For youth who have completed third grade or are 10 years old.


Arrow of Light.  For youth who have completed fourth grade.


Cub Scouts do not “go back” and work on ranks designed for earlier grade levels, even if missed due to their time of joining.  Likewise, Cub Scouts do not “move ahead” to the next rank until the completion of the current school year (or until their next birthday if their chartered organization transitions by age).

The Cub Scout Advancement Trail



Cub Scouting Adventures {Rank requirements}


BSA’s guidance to administering Cub Scout advancement can be found in the Guide to Advancement – Mechanics of Advancement: In Cub Scouting


Den Leader Resources